Monday May 06, 2019
KING’S LYNN boss Peter Schroeck paid tribute to his side after seeing them pick up a consolation point in 48-42 defeat at Ipswich.

A bumper crowd were treated to a close contest with the outcome on a knife-edge for the majority of the meeting.

Just when Ipswich looked like pulling clear the Poultec Stars, led by flying German Erik Riss, somehow pegged them back with some determined riding.
And Schroeck said: “There’s a good home advantage for the Ipswich boys like there is for us at our place, so I’m pleased with a point.
“Obviously I would have liked the win but we’ve taken something from a very good Ipswich team who will be tough to beat around their own track.
“I think it was a good speedway meeting which once again showed what a good sport we have and the fans had plenty to talk about.
“We had a couple of guys not at their best and that’s another reason why I have to be pleased with a point.”

After an opening shared heat the Stars looked to be on a 5-1 in Heat 2 until Cameron Heeps clipped Kasper Andersen and Heeps was excluded. In the rerun Palm Toft eased to the win ahead of Allen and Andersen.
Witches hit back with a 4-2 in the next race to bring the scores level.

Back-to-back Witches’ heat advantages in 5 and 6 put the home side six points up.

Krystian Pieszczek fell heavily in the initial staging of Heat 7, resulting in his exclusion.
Then in the rerun Erik Riss romped to an excellent win while Ty Proctor just held off Heeps for second for a 5-1.
Witches hit back in Heat 8 with a 5-1 to extend their lead to 27-21.

But back-to-back 4-2s for the Stars in 9 and 10 cut the deficit to just two points.
The home side the. hit back with two 4-2s in 11 and 12 and extended their lead back to six points.
Two shared heats followed which secured the victory for the Witches.

IPSWICH 48: Richard Lawson 12+1, David Bellego 10, Jake Allen 9+1, Cameron Heeps 6+1, Danny King 6+1, Krystian Pieszczek 4+1, Chris Harris 1.
KING’S LYNN 42: Erik Riss 14, Michael Palm Toft 8, Robert Lambert 7, Thomas Jorgensen 5, Ty Proctor 3+1, Kasper Andersen 3+1, Lewis Kerr 2+1.


Share This:   Facebook Twitter