Thursday June 27, 2019
KING’S Lynn saw their interest in the Premiership Supporters’ Cup ended by a heavy 58-32 defeat at Swindon on Thursday.

The Poultec Stars needed at least a draw from the meeting to retain hopes of reaching the Final, but in truth it never really looked on.

The Robins took control of the meeting with two 5-1s in the first four races, whilst the Stars failed to card a single advantage all evening.

There was no answer to home captain Jason Doyle, who raced to a 15-point maximum, and his team-mates gave a solid display in support.

For the Stars, both Craig Cook and Robert Lambert hit double-figures, and Cook produced one of the best rides of the meeting when he went inside Troy Batchelor and Ellis Perks off the fourth bend to win Heat 7.

Unfortunately, the visitors’ chances of taking points back in that race had already gone awry when Thomas Jorgensen crashed whilst holding a 5-1 position with Cook.

The remaining members of the King’s Lynn team got little change out of the home riders, and Lambert found himself upstaged by Batchelor and Rasmus Jensen in Heat 13 as the Robins went through the 50-point barrier with two races to spare.

Lambert did gain a consolation win in Heat 15 over Batchelor and Adam Ellis, but overall it was a night to forget as the Stars were well beaten.

Manager Peter Schroeck said: “This is now a very difficult track, and it took Swindon a little while to get used to it – and it wouldn’t be natural if they didn’t do what they do.

“They’ve made a couple of changes which have worked out, and it made it tough. They have a good home advantage here.

“I do feel confident that we will pick up some points away from home, as we’ve done it before, but there’s no doubt this was a tough one for us.”

Lynn return to the main business of league competition when Swindon make the trip to the Adrian Flux Arena on Monday.

SWINDON 58: Jason Doyle 15, Troy Batchelor 13, Rasmus Jensen 9+3, Adam Ellis 8+1, Stefan Nielsen 5+2, Ellis Perks 4+1, David Bellego 4.
KING'S LYNN 32: Craig Cook 12, Robert Lambert 10, Michael Palm Toft 4+2, Ty Proctor 4, Thomas Jorgensen 1+1, Lewis Kerr 1, Simon Lambert 0.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter